If you’re looking for the best pet tracker in South Africa, the honest news is that the market has finally grown up. Two years ago the choice was a handful of imports that didn’t work on our networks and a couple of local trackers that needed you to buy and manage your own SIM. In 2026 there are two local companies building GPS pet trackers that sleep at home and wake when your pet leaves — including ours — plus a price-floor tier that costs less and asks more of you.
This guide compares every dog and cat GPS tracker you can actually buy here on the things that decide whether it earns its place on the collar: what it costs over a year, whether you need to source a SIM, which network it runs on, how long the battery lasts, and what happens in the twenty minutes after your pet goes missing. Whether you want to track your dog or cat across a suburb or a smallholding, the same five questions apply.
We make RoamFree, so we’ve been careful to say where the others win. If you spot something we’ve got wrong, tell us and we’ll fix it.

Before the detail, that’s the one picture worth studying if you have a cat: the trackers range from 19 grams to 35, and on a small cat that difference is visible.
Most pet trackers never switch off — and that’s why they need charging every few days
A GPS pet tracking device is a small radio that talks to satellites and a cell tower. Both of those cost battery. The older way to build one is to leave it running all the time, reporting a real-time location every few minutes whether your cat is on the couch or three streets away. That’s why the classic pet tracker lasts two to five days between charges — and why so many pet trackers end up dead in a drawer.
The newer approach is a tracker that learns where home is. It recognises your home Wi-Fi (or a Bluetooth beacon) and, while it can see that signal, it goes to sleep. The moment your pet leaves the property and starts moving, it wakes up, tells you, and tracks them. A pet that stays within the home perimeter can stretch battery life from days to weeks, and — this is the part that matters — the tracker is nearly full on the day your pet actually bolts, because it wasn’t watching them sleep.
Four trackers sold in South Africa work this way now: our RoamFree, and TailMe’s Infinity Pro, Agile Pro and Nimble Pro 4G. Everything else below is always-on.
Every pet GPS tracker in South Africa, compared
One rule for what’s in the tables: it has to be sold in Rand, delivered locally, from stock in South Africa. That’s it — no rating filter, no brand preference. If you can order it today and it arrives with a South African waybill, it’s here. The no-name 4G trackers on Takealot meet that test too; there are dozens with the same hardware inside, so they’re one column rather than a listing each.
The trackers fall into three groups, and the group matters more than the brand: how a tracker manages its battery decides how it behaves on the day your pet is actually missing. Prices and claims are as published by each company on 10 September 2026. Battery figures are the vendor’s own; ours are stated as a range because battery life depends on how much your pet goes out.
Sleep-at-Home Trackers
These learn where home is and rest while your pet is there. Two companies make them: us, and TailMe.
| Horizen RoamFree | TailMe Infinity Pro | TailMe Agile Pro | TailMe Nimble Pro 4G | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (Rands) / ongoing | R1,699 · first year included, then R20/month, no contract | R2,599 · plus your own SIM and data | R2,499 · plus your own SIM and data | R2,399 · plus your own SIM and data |
| SIM / subscription setup | Preconfigured out of the box — nothing to fit, source or set up; self-setup under 5 min | Buy a Vodacom prepaid, load R50–R150, enable out-of-bundle data, enter APN; beacon in the charger, extra beacons R349 | Same as Infinity Pro | Buy a 4G nano SIM with airtime; “cannot work without a SIM” |
| Sleep-at-home tech | Yes — home Wi-Fi + 75m zone, set automatically, then reshaped to your property | Yes — Wi-Fi + Bluetooth beacon; multiple beacons | Yes — Wi-Fi + Bluetooth beacon | Yes — Wi-Fi + Bluetooth beacon |
| Battery life (as claimed) | Up to 3 wks (homebody) · 1–2 wks (out a few hrs/day) · a few days (all-day roamer) · 17h on the move at 60s updates · 650mAh | “A week or longer” with beacon, at 5–10 min updates · live mode: hours · capacity not published | ~3–4 days, same conditions · 240mAh | “Up to 10 days” in home-zone mode · interval not stated |
| Weight & waterproofing | 35g · IP68, submersible 1.5m | Waterproof · weight not published | 19g · waterproof | 52×35mm · waterproof · weight not published |
| Emergency / shareable features | Left-home and back-home alerts · finder button · emergency contact per device · shareable location link | Safe-zone alerts · Bluetooth finder | Safe-zone alerts · Bluetooth finder | Safe-zone alerts · finder · two-way voice · sound & light search |
| Network | NB-IoT (Vodacom) | NB-IoT (Vodacom only) | NB-IoT (Vodacom only) | 4G LTE |
| Live / real-time updates | Every 60 seconds while moving | 5–10 min recommended · live mode on demand (“hours, not days”) | Same as Infinity Pro | Continuous online mode available |
| Virtual fences (geofencing) | Yes — automatic home zone you can reshape, plus custom fences | Yes — user-drawn safe zones | Yes | Yes |
| Location history | Yes — full route playback | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Free platform | Yes, for life | No platform fee stated; data is yours to keep loaded | Same | Same |
| Available from | horizen.co.za | tailme.co.za | tailme.co.za | tailme.co.za |
Always-On Trackers
These report on a fixed interval whether your pet is on the couch or over the wall. Cheaper up front, charged more often, and in most cases the SIM and data are yours to manage.
| Streetwise Pets | PET-GPS | Spy Shop | Takealot generics | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (Rands) / ongoing | R1,690 (Compact/Extreme) · R2,380 (K9) · ~100MB data a month plus airtime top-ups | R1,399 (Nomad) · R1,799 (Ranger) · plus your own SIM, data and SMS | R1,500 local stock (R2,300 import version with SIM) · “no subscription” | From ~R580 (M10 on promotion; R1,199 list) · plus your own SIM and data |
| SIM / subscription setup | MTN SIM fitted before dispatch (their claim); you top up the data | Buy any SA GSM SIM; third-party 365GPS app | Free SIM on the import version; self-setup | Buy a SIM, set the APN; Chinese app |
| Sleep-at-home tech | No | No | No | No |
| Battery life (as claimed) | 2–5 days, depends on 2G reception and your set interval | “Usage dependent” | 7 days live / 14 days standby | Days, claimed |
| Weight & waterproofing | 22g Compact (45×35×12mm) · IP67 pouch | 32g Nomad · splash-resistant only | IP64 — not waterproof | Varies; M10 claims IP68 |
| Emergency / shareable features | Geofence alarms · multi-user app · remote listen-in (Extreme, K9) · ring (Extreme) | Geofence · app alerts · sound cue for hiding cats (Nomad) · LED | Basic app alerts | App-dependent; some listen-in |
| Network | 2G/GSM (MTN, Vodacom) | GSM / AGPS / LBS / Wi-Fi | GSM | 4G / 2G |
| Live / real-time updates | User-set: 1, 10 or 60 min | User-set | Not stated | User-set |
| Virtual fences (geofencing) | Yes — user-drawn, with in-app alarms | Yes | Basic | Usually |
| Location history | Yes — replay at 1/10/60-min intervals | Yes | Basic | Usually |
| Free platform | No platform fee; data is yours | Third-party app | “No subscription” | Free app, varies |
| Available from | streetwisepets.co.za | pet-gps.co.za, Takealot | spyshopsa.co.za | Takealot |
Specialist / Handheld
Garmin Alpha. A different category: a tracking collar paired to a rugged handheld over long-range radio, with training functions, built for working-dog handlers rather than pet owners. No SIM, no subscription, R20,000-plus for a current bundle, and worth it only if you’re hunting or herding with the dog.
Specialist features not in the tables, for the record: activity monitoring and health insights are import-only (Tractive, Whistle, Fi, Findster). Remote listening and talking through the collar is on Streetwise’s Extreme and K9 trackers and TailMe’s Nimble Pro. RoamFree has none of these.
Not in the tables because they fail the rule: Tractive (Austrian, EUR subscription, ships internationally — if you’ve searched “Tractive South Africa”, this is why it isn’t sold here), Whistle and Fi (US cellular, won’t work on SA networks) and Findster (RF, import only). If you see them recommended in an international review, that’s why they’re not in a South African one.
Cost and Expenses: the SIM is the real running cost
The average price of a pet GPS tracker available in South Africa now runs from around R600 for a generic Takealot unit to R2,599 for TailMe’s Infinity Pro, with Garmin’s working-dog systems well above that. The sticker price is the smaller half of the story.
The bigger half is the SIM, and it’s the one nobody mentions until you’re standing in a cellphone shop. Some pet tracking devices arrive with connectivity built in and managed for you. Others need you to buy a SIM, load data, sometimes configure an APN, and keep it topped up — and a tracker with expired airtime or an inactive data bundle is useless when your pet wanders off. Eliminating monthly SIM maintenance removes a major point of failure. That’s the deal in the budget tier: PET-GPS and the Takealot generics leave the SIM, the data and a third-party app to you. Streetwise says it fits the SIM before dispatch; you top up the data yourself. RoamFree ships preconfigured — there’s nothing to fit or set up on the connectivity side at all. TailMe’s Pro range takes a SIM you buy — their own setup guide says a Vodacom prepaid with R50 to R150 loaded, out-of-bundle data switched on so it doesn’t expire, and an APN entered. RoamFree arrives with connectivity included for the first year and R20 a month after that, with nothing to source.
Then there’s the network. NB-IoT is a low-power cellular network built for exactly this kind of device: it reaches further into rural and low-signal areas than ordinary 4G, and it sips battery. RoamFree and TailMe’s Infinity Pro and Agile Pro use it, on Vodacom’s network. Streetwise’s range runs on 2G. It still works today, but Vodacom and MTN are actively phasing out 3G and 2G to free up spectrum for 4G, 5G and NB-IoT — there’s no fixed national switch-off date, but the direction is set, and it’s worth knowing before you buy something you want to last five years. The generic Takealot trackers are 4G or 2G with your own SIM.
Battery Life and Durability, stated honestly
Every vendor quotes a number; the number only means something with the conditions attached — and the condition that matters most is how often the tracker reports while your pet is out, because location freshness and battery life pull against each other. RoamFree’s honest answer is up to three weeks for a homebody, one to two weeks for a pet out a couple of hours a day, and a few days for an all-day roamer — with 17 hours of tracking on the move at a location every 60 seconds. TailMe quotes “a week or longer” for the Infinity Pro with a beacon, about half that for the Agile Pro, and up to 10 days for the Nimble Pro in home-zone mode — at their recommended 5–10 minute interval, with a live mode you switch on for emergencies that they say runs hours rather than days. Streetwise quotes two to five days and says it depends on 2G reception and the interval you set, from one minute to sixty.
Two things decide the away-battery figure: how big the cell is, and how often it reports. The Agile Pro’s 240mAh is a third of RoamFree’s 650mAh — that’s the cost of 19 grams, and it’s most of why it lasts days rather than a week. The Infinity Pro’s capacity isn’t published; its longer figure comes from reporting every 5–10 minutes rather than every minute, with a live mode TailMe says runs hours. RoamFree spends a larger battery on a fresh location every minute. Neither approach is wrong — a small cell buys weight, a slow interval buys days, a fast interval buys certainty — but compare them knowing which lever each maker pulled.
Durability comes down to the waterproof rating. IP68 means submersible. IP67 means it survives a dunk. “Splash-resistant” and IP64 mean it doesn’t, and a pet tracker lives outdoors in Highveld storms. Most of the budget tier is splash-resistant at best.
What happens when they go missing
This is where pet tracking devices separate. The alert that your pet has left home is the first thing; after that you want a real-time location that updates fast enough to follow, a way to get the rest of the household looking, a link you can send the neighbour who’s out searching, and something a stranger can press if they find your pet. RoamFree updates every 60 seconds while your pet is moving, sends alerts to you and an emergency contact, has a shareable location link and a finder button. TailMe’s Pro range updates every 5–10 minutes by default with a live mode you switch on for emergencies. Streetwise’s Extreme and K9 trackers and TailMe’s Nimble Pro can listen in or talk through the collar, which RoamFree can’t do.
Virtual fences work differently across the tiers too. RoamFree’s home zone is a 75m safe zone set automatically during setup and reshaped to your property line afterwards, with custom geofencing on top; TailMe and Streetwise both offer geofencing you draw yourself. The generic apps usually have it, of varying reliability.
Best Dog GPS Tracker South Africa — by situation
Most dog trackers here are not collars in themselves; they’re a tracker in a case that mounts to the collar you already have. The exceptions are Garmin’s systems, which come as tracking collars for working dogs. For most owners the best dog GPS tracker South Africa currently sells is one of the sleep-at-home pair — RoamFree or TailMe’s Infinity Pro — and which one depends on the dog and the property. RoamFree fits any dog tracking collar with a strap 20mm or wider.

A dog that finds the gap in the fence. RoamFree or TailMe Infinity Pro — both sleep at home and wake when the dog leaves, which is the whole point for a fence-tester. RoamFree is R900 less and arrives with connectivity built in; the Infinity Pro lets you place extra beacons if the property is large. Streetwise’s K9 Ultimate Plus if you don’t mind charging every few days.
A farm or smallholding dog, or anything on a big property. NB-IoT reach matters here, and so does the home zone. RoamFree’s 75m zone is set automatically and then reshaped to your fence line; TailMe lets you place extra beacons across a large property, which is genuinely useful on a farm. If you’re a working-dog handler who needs training functions and a handheld, Garmin’s Alpha tracking collars are a different category at a different price.
A budget, and a willingness to manage a SIM. PET-GPS’s Ranger at R1,799 or the Takealot generics from around R580. Go in knowing that the setup, the data top-ups and the app are yours to manage, and check the waterproof rating before you buy.
Best cat tracker in South Africa — by situation
Cats are the harder problem. They’re lighter, they squeeze through gaps a tracker can catch on, and they hide when they’re lost rather than running — which means the tracker has to be small enough to wear all day and still have battery when the cat finally moves. A cat tracker collar with a breakaway clasp is worth having whatever tracker you choose.

A small cat, or one that resents anything on its neck. On weight alone, the best cat tracker South Africa has right now is TailMe’s Agile Pro at 19 grams — the lightest full GPS cat tracker sold here, and if weight is the deciding factor it’s the honest pick. Streetwise’s AlleyCat Compact is 22 grams. RoamFree is 35 grams; for a cat with a neck under 30cm we recommend a harness rather than a collar, which also gives the case the wider strap it fits best on.
A cat that roams the neighbourhood and comes home to sleep. This is the case the sleep-at-home trackers were built for, and it’s most cats. RoamFree on a harness gives you the longest battery claim of the four, connectivity built in, and R800 back against the Agile Pro. The Agile Pro is the better choice if the cat’s size simply won’t tolerate 35 grams.
A cat that hides. Two features matter: a sound cue on the tracker to find a cat under a shed, and a location that holds when the cat stops moving. PET-GPS’s Nomad and TailMe’s Nimble Pro have an audible cue; RoamFree holds its last position and doesn’t spend battery while the cat is still, so it’s ready when they move again.
A budget. PET-GPS’s Nomad at R1,399 or Spy Shop’s at R1,500, with the SIM and data on you and splash resistance rather than waterproofing.
A cat that mostly stays home and you want the least admin. RoamFree. Nothing to source, nothing to top up, and it spends most of its life asleep.
Comparing GPS Trackers and Bluetooth Trackers
A Bluetooth tag — an Apple AirTag or a Horizen Tag — doesn’t have GPS or a cellular radio. It broadcasts a Bluetooth signal that passing phones relay: Apple’s Find My network for the Apple Tag, Google’s Find Hub for the Android one. The location you see is only as fresh as the last phone that walked past, so these networks are crowdsourced by design — dense and near-instant in a busy suburb or shopping centre, sparse in a quiet peri-urban street, and close to nothing on a farm road where there are no phones at all.
They’re not a substitute for a GPS pet tracker, and they’re not a rival to one. A bluetooth tag covers the house and the block for R349 with no subscription fees at all; a GPS tracker covers everything past it. Plenty of households run both — the tag on the indoor cat, the tracker on the one that goes over the wall — and a multi-pet household is exactly where the pairing makes sense.
Why not just use an AirTag? It depends on passing iPhones, which is thin cover on a farm road. For an indoor cat in a busy suburb that’s often enough on its own; for anything that ranges further, it isn’t.
Using Bluetooth trackers for pets
Apple AirTag. Works seamlessly inside Apple’s ecosystem; replaceable battery lasts up to a year; IP67; around R750. Leverages the Find My network of nearby Apple devices.
Horizen Tag. Certified for Apple’s Find My, with an Android version on Google’s Find Hub. Replaceable battery up to six months; around R349. Not water-resistant, so it works for pets who stay dry. Best for urban pet owners who want an affordable, low-maintenance tag for the house and the block — and, paired with a GPS tracker, for the one pet in the household that ranges further. The Android Find Hub network is still maturing outside busy areas; if your main worry is a pet wandering off in a quiet suburb, treat the Android tag as a supplementary tool.
Our pick, and why
We’d say RoamFree, and here’s the case rather than the sales line. For a dog, it’s our answer to the best dog GPS tracker South Africa has to offer at the price: one of four trackers here that sleeps at home, so the battery lasts weeks and is nearly full when it counts, and the only one of the four that arrives with connectivity built in — no SIM to source, nothing to top up — at R1,699 with the first year included, R700 to R900 less than the other three before their owners have bought a SIM. When your pet leaves, it updates every minute, tells you and one other person, gives you a link to send the search party and a button a stranger can press.
Where it isn’t the pick: if you have a very small cat, the Agile Pro’s 19 grams is a real advantage. If you want to listen in or talk through the collar, Streetwise and TailMe’s Nimble Pro can do that and we can’t. If you want activity monitoring, none of the local trackers do it and you’ll be importing. If you’re training working dogs, look at Garmin.
Whichever pet tracker in South Africa you choose, the best one isn’t the one with the longest spec sheet. It’s the one that’s charged and connected on the day your pet decides to leave. Buy the one you’ll actually keep running.
